Kim Michele Richardson - photo Andrew Eccles NY

Kim Michele Richardson - photo Andrew Eccles NY

        JOURNEY TO INDIE BOOKSTORES                 

 

JOURNEY TO INDIE BOOKSTORES  

         


~Available at these retailers~

At brick and mortar stores and online

If you order from Nanny Goat Books in Louisville, KY or City Lights in Sylva, NC, you can have the book signed and/or inscribed at no additional charge. They also happily ship!

Amazon

B&N

BAM

Choose INDIE Bound

Hudson Bookseller

Target

Walmart

 

~~~

I love exploring my birthplace in my writings; the beautiful, brutal and mysterious Kentucky land and its people. I have traveled to mostly every corner and nook of Kentucky and am always searching for another cranny to discover. 

I impart my novels with my fierce love for the land, showcase its intriguing people, history, and forgotten song of the region, exploring social injustices and the unusual and cherished traditions, myths and legends of Kentucky.

More than anything, I write human stories set in a unique landscape. Knowing one small piece of this world, the earth, the sky, the plants, the people and the very air of it—helps us understand the sufferings and joys of other —ourselves.  

I visited the backwoods and rural areas of Western Kentucky in Liar’s Bench with a town's bench made from the 100-year-old gallows of a female slave. Then in GodPretty I explored Appalachia, its darkly coal rich mountains and the hardscrabble people of Eastern Kentucky.

Spanning the 30s to present-day, The Sisters of Glass Ferry, is a haunting tale of love and loss, redemption and atonement, and the dark secrets surrounding a 1952 prom night when two teens go missing in rural Kentucky. The novel takes us to the South Central regions, the dirty south of this land, exploring the Kentucky River Palisades and soaking up the ‘angels' share’ breezes — caused by the strong evaporation of sleeping bourbon aging in barrels.

I currently finished my next novel The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek, exploring the Pack Horse Library Project of 1935.  It is a fascinating tale of tribute about the fearsome librarians who traveled on horseback and mule to provide books to the poor and isolated communities in Kentucky.

You'll find all my books carry Discussion Guides inside and are perfect for Book Clubs and schools.

 

~PRAISE~

The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek -"Richardson's latest work is a hauntingly atmospheric love letter to the first mobile library in Kentucky and the fierce, brave packhorse librarians who wove their way from shack to shack dispensing literacy, hope, and - just as importantly - a compassionate human connection. Richardson's rendering of stark poverty against the ferocity of the human spirit is irresistible. Add to this the history of the unique and oppressed blue-skinned people of Kentucky, and you've got an un-put-downable work that holds real cultural significance." - Sara Gruen#1 NYT bestselling author, Water for Elephants

"This is Richardson's finest, as beautiful and honest as it is fierce and heart-wrenching, THE BOOK WOMAN OF TROUBLESOME CREEK explores the fascinating and unique blue-skinned people of Kentucky and the brave Packhorse librarians. A timeless and significant tale about poverty, intolerance and how books can bring hope and light to even the darkest pocket of history." -Karen Abbott, New York Times bestselling author of Liar Temptress Soldier Spy

“Emotionally resonant and unforgettable, THE BOOK WOMAN OF TROUBLESOME CREEK is a lush love letter to the redemptive power of books. It is by far my favorite KMR book—and I am her huge fan. Cussy Mary is an indomitable and valiant heroine, and through her true-blue eyes, 1930s Kentucky comes to vivid and often harrowing life. Richardson's dialogue is note-perfect; Cussy Mary's voice is still ringing in my head, and the sometimes dark story she tells highlights such gorgeous, glowing grace notes that I was often moved to hopeful tears.” -Joshilyn Jackson NYT bestselling author of The Almost Sisters                            

"The Sisters of Glass Ferry- Ms. Richardson’s strength is her ability to put readers in the scene and into the characters’ feelings. Her evocation of the sensory world is astonishing, as is her handling of the intangible aspects of environment: values, prejudices, and aspirations. She conjures a world that seems at once vividly present and broodingly haunted."- Southern Literary Review

The Sisters of Glass Ferry, "Highly Recommended." EDITOR'S CHOICE- Historical Novel Society

The Sisters of Glass Ferry, longlisted for the 2018 SIBA Southern Book Prize

The Sisters of Glass Ferry-Richardson's expert chronicling of events surrounding a tragic, mysterious death told from the perspective of twin sisters is a stunning, heart-stirring read. Top Pick! -RT Magazine

"Richardson's novel [The Sisters of Glass Ferry]is a southern gothic treat, as dark and complex as a good glass of whiskey. Fans of Mary Kubica and Emma Cline will enjoy this tender story of family legend, loss and redemption." -Booklist

The Sisters of Glass Ferry "Richardson's bourbon-infused saga is rich with drama and family intrigue." - Publishers Weekly

The Sisters of Glass Ferry, a TRIO 2018 Selection. OKRA PICK, SIBA 2017

The Sisters of Glass Ferry  "An authentic Southern voice straight out of Kentucky, well graveled, rough with moonshine, and damn near irresistible.”— Joshilyn Jackson, NYT bestselling author of gods in Alabama and The Almost Sisters

“A great piece of work.” – NPR -Kentucky Affiliate -Bill Burton, Host, Morning Edition, WFPL on GODPRETTY IN THE TOBACCO FIELD

“A voice rich and authentic, steeped in the somber beauty that defines life in the South. Richardson knows this place well, and GodPretty sings of that honesty.” — David Joy, Where All Light Tends To Go

"Richardson writes Kentucky. Her stories aren’t just set in our state. They express in their very words the uniqueness of the place. She has truly found her voice and people love it."  -Derby Rotten Scoundrels Chapter, SinC (Sisters In Crime)