Kim Michele Richardson - photo Andrew Eccles NY

Kim Michele Richardson - photo Andrew Eccles NY

        JOURNEY TO INDIE BOOKSTORES                 

 

JOURNEY TO INDIE BOOKSTORES  

         


~Available at these retailers~

Books available & shipped from City Lights Bookstore Sylva NC

Amazon

B&N

BAM

IndieBound

Target

Walmart

Hudson Bookseller

~~~

I love exploring my birthplace in my writings; the beautiful, brutal and mysterious Kentucky land and its people. I have traveled to mostly every corner and nook of Kentucky and am always searching for another cranny to discover. 

I impart my novels with my fierce love for the land, showcase its intriguing people, history, and forgotten song of the region, exploring social injustices and the unusual and cherished traditions, myths and legends of Kentucky.

More than anything, I write human stories set in a unique landscape. Knowing one small piece of this world, the earth, the sky, the plants, the people and the very air of it, helps us know every place ourselves.  And isn’t that what Eudora Welty meant when she wrote, “One place understood helps us understand all places better."

I visited the backwoods and rural areas of Western Kentucky in Liar’s Bench with a town's bench made from the 100-year-old gallows of a female slave. Then in GodPretty I explored Appalachia, its darkly coal rich mountains and the hardscrabble people of Eastern Kentucky.

Spanning the 30s to present-day, The Sisters of Glass Ferry, is a haunting tale of love and loss, redemption and atonement, and the dark secrets surrounding a 1952 prom night when two teens go missing in rural Kentucky. The novel takes us to the South Central regions, the dirty south of this land, exploring the Kentucky River Palisades and soaking up the ‘angels' share’ breezes — caused by the strong evaporation of sleeping bourbon aging in barrels.

I currently finished my next novel The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek, exploring the Pack Horse Library Project of 1935.  It is a fascinating tale of tribute about the fearsome librarians who traveled on horseback and mule to provide books to the poor and isolated communities in Kentucky.

You'll find all my books carry Discussion Guides inside and are perfect for Book Clubs and schools.

 

 

~PRAISE~

 

The Sisters of Glass Ferry, "Highly Recommended." EDITOR'S CHOICE- Historical Novel Society

The Sisters of Glass Ferry, longlisted for the 2018 SIBA Southern Book Prize

The Sisters of Glass Ferry-Richardson's expert chronicling of events surrounding a tragic, mysterious death told from the perspective of twin sisters is a stunning, heart-stirring read. Top Pick! -RT Magazine

"Richardson's novel [The Sisters of Glass Ferry]is a southern gothic treat, as dark and complex as a good glass of whiskey. Fans of Mary Kubica and Emma Cline will enjoy this tender story of family legend, loss and redemption." -Booklist

The Sisters of Glass Ferry "Richardson's bourbon-infused saga is rich with drama and family intrigue." - Publishers Weekly

The Sisters of Glass Ferry, a TRIO 2018 Selection. OKRA PICK, SIBA 2017

The Sisters of Glass Ferry  "An authentic Southern voice straight out of Kentucky, well graveled, rough with moonshine, and damn near irresistible.”— Joshilyn Jackson, NYT bestselling author of gods in Alabama and The Almost Sisters

“A great piece of work.” – NPR -Kentucky Affiliate -Bill Burton, Host, Morning Edition, WFPL on GODPRETTY IN THE TOBACCO FIELD

“A voice rich and authentic, steeped in the somber beauty that defines life in the South. Richardson knows this place well, and GodPretty sings of that honesty.” — David Joy, Where All Light Tends To Go

"Richardson writes Kentucky. Her stories aren’t just set in our state. They express in their very words the uniqueness of the place. She has truly found her voice and people love it."  -Derby Rotten Scoundrels Chapter, SinC (Sisters In Crime)